Get into THIS
Life Lessons, Transformation

Letting Go – Beyond World Domination #WDS

What a trip.

It’s been a week since I returned to Vancouver from Chris Gillabeau’s first World Domination Summit in Portland, Oregon.  When I bought my ticket through a very random set of circumstances on a waiting list of 400+ people, I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into. I’ll save the juicy deets from WDS for another post, for now, I wanted to share a bit of the insight that I gained from being in Portland with 499 rad folks.

I’ve been on an personal roller-coaster of transformation this past year, from ending a long term relationship to re-connecting with long-lost family, and in an attempt to rediscover who I really am, I’ve also unearthed cracks in my identity mostly filled with trauma, fear and a hell of a lot of other people’s baggage.  As I open myself to new experiences and new connections in particular, these “cracks” are thrown wide open, exposing these limited beliefs that I’ve been grasping with a tightly wound fist. And then, miraculously, and in what seems like an instant, I let go.

I know what you’re thinking, how can you just “let go”? This sounds far too simple doesn’t it? My friend James Sinclair, who I worked with on What If? The Movie, has expressed to me many times that as quickly as you can have a negative thought, you can simply let go of that same thought, in an instant.

Because I had never experienced this seemingly radical instant transformation, it became a bit of a thorn in my side. I obsessed over how James had been able to eliminate destructive thoughts and tendencies simply, by shifting a negative thought into a positive thought.  From someone who has a tendency to over-think things, the concept seemed too easy to be legit. I’m sure a few of you are thinking that very same thing right now.

At WDS, life guru and all-around superhero (just sayin’!) Jonathan Fields talked about “re-framing”, a technique often used in therapy settings, and a highly effective way to shift your ideas on experiences in your life.  It isn’t a radical idea, in fact, its pretty simple.

I hadn’t even realized it but I’ve been re-framing bit by bit over the past couple of months. Unsatisfied with the self-induced anxiety of remaining independent following the loss of my partner, the fretting over money, time, reputation, friends, family, societal obligations and depression, I visited a naturopath, got on an aggressive plan to re-connect the wires in my brain, met with my birth mother for the first time in 20 years and basically, gave my fears the big eff off.

Consciously saying “I can choose who I want to be and what I want out of my experiences in life”, instead of saying, “I can’t do this because of this person/thought/belief/perception….” holds incredible power.  This tiny shift in thought made a massive impact on how I am currently choosing to live my life.

As I rode the train into Portland on Friday evening before the WDS kick-off, I went over in my head all of the things I was nervous about:

**meeting new people

**judgment

**networking

**will anybody want to hear what I have to say?

**does what I am doing really matter to anyone else? 

And then I addressed each thought for what it was, fear, trepidation, uncertainty and flipped them on their heads.

**I will meet new people who will bring love and light and success into my world

**I will eliminate judgment when I interact with people

**I am a strong connector and I do not need to act like someone else to network successfully

**Not everyone will want to hear what I have to say and that’s okay but a lot of other people will

**Everything I am doing matters to me and will serve to make a positive impact on the people around me

Of course I can’t guarantee that this will work for you, it certainly takes an understanding that everything that happens is because YOU make it happen. I believe every choice we make is reflected in the outcome, that we have full control over our experiences and circumstances.  From gaining this perspective, my personal power has grown and my stress levels have reduced drastically.

Tiny shifts = HUGE gains.

I have so much more to share about the World Domination Summit but I don’t want to overload you so please stay tuned for an in-depth look at what we did for those 3 magical days in Portland.

Love, M.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “Letting Go – Beyond World Domination #WDS

  1. Hi Mercedes, I just wanted to say how touched I was to read this. I really enjoyed meeting you at WDS this year, and got a lot of positive vibes from our discussion regarding writing. I still have the info you wrote down, and will be sure to reference it when needed. Thanks for being you, Simon
    ps – Drop me an email if you’re ever in Seattle

    Posted by simoncunningham | June 14, 2011, 9:55 am
  2. Lovely!!! <3

    Posted by Techno Sprout | June 14, 2011, 10:11 am
  3. Such a touching post and I love the leaps you’ve made in so short a time. Keep focusing on reframing so that you can share your gifts with the world. Everyone has a story to tell and I think what was so special about the World Domination Summit was that everyone was willing to listen and had an incredible story to tell. Being surrounded by all that is just inspiring.

    Posted by Natalie Sisson | June 14, 2011, 11:34 am
  4. Love it! So real, so powerful!

    Posted by Cynthia Morris | June 14, 2011, 12:09 pm
  5. Loved reading this, Mercedes. I’ve been amazed reading through people’s blogs after WDS just how courageous and legendary everybody is. I mean, I kinda figured everyone I met there was like that, but I only got a few snippets of their stories here and there. Reading posts like this helps fill in the blanks.

    Wishing you all the best on your journey and transformation. Methinks you’ve got the makings of a great life :-)

    Posted by Niall Doherty | June 14, 2011, 12:13 pm
  6. ironically I wasn’t one of the 499 RAD folks there.

    Posted by Radman | June 14, 2011, 12:31 pm
  7. Mercedes, I love this post. It was a genuine pleasure to spend time with you in Portland and to hear about what you’re up to, and I know that the work you’ve put in over the last few months will continue to pay off. If I were in Vancouver I’d give you a big ol’ hug.

    Posted by Steve Errey | June 14, 2011, 1:04 pm
  8. Mercedes – Love your willingness to embrace your journey and create a new storyline that empowers, rather than tears down. It’s one of those ideas that’s so simple, but so effective. Can’t wait to see what you build.

    Oh, and PS: me = sooooo NOT in the “guru” category. Just a dude on a road. lol. ;-)

    Posted by Jonathan Fields | June 14, 2011, 1:20 pm
    • Hi Jonathan,

      You may not consider yourself a guru, but your work inspires so many to live to the fullest including ME! Thank you so much for your contributions and for taking the time to read my blog, hearing you speak at WDS was a highlight of my weekend. :)

      With Gratitude,

      Mercedes

      Posted by Mercedes CA Grant | June 14, 2011, 3:43 pm
  9. Such a powerful, honest story – thanks for taking the time (and courage) to post about the reality of life: it’s hard! it’s a struggle! I am so impressed and in awe of your mental tenacity. It takes guts and courage to change the way we think and the way we frame our world. At the end of the day, you’re right: we only have our thoughts to lead us through the world around us, and the way we think really affects the way the world is. Congratulations for finding and unlocking such a huge, powerful tool we all have – our own psychology. Cheers, – Sarah (fellow WDS attendee)

    Posted by Sarah Kathleen | June 14, 2011, 1:37 pm
    • Hi Sarah,

      Thank you for your kind words. Writing is my catharsis and I realize now that I can use this to help others to see things that may be difficult for them to face in their own lives, I find it so liberating to be open about my experiences. It is incredible to be able to reach out to an audience and receive a positive response. I would love to keep in touch Sarah!

      With Gratitude,

      Mercedes

      Posted by Mercedes CA Grant | June 14, 2011, 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

